Breast. No Bottle.

To nurse, or not to nurse: that is not a question!

Anti-choice culture parading as pro-choice

leave a comment »

I was getting a massage from a long-time friend whom I met at an LLL meeting. We lazily chatted about good ol’ days when we met, how she nursed under a blanket that attracted more attention than nursing itself, and how she was now limiting her one-year-old’s nursing in public. She didn’t use to with her older ones, now she does. I probably would too. In fact, I would be afraid to nurse in public now. The backlash against nursing women is so strong, the message that breastfeeding is not welcome so prevalent, it is scary to breastfeed. I see breastfeeding women bring bottles to company gatherings, I see lactation rooms that imply I must leave a baby elsewhere and sequester myself to extract milk should I need to, I read about laws that will pay for a pump or a mother who is admonished in court for not “maintaining decorum” when she nurse her child. Clearly, in the US the culture of substance feeding is well and alive. The culture that values women’s roles in nursing/mothering children is nowhere to be found. I can be substituted with a substance in a bottle (to the tune of Sting’s Message in a Bottle 🙂

In the following weeks I engage in a debate with a presumable IBCLC who accuses me of being anti-choice as well as “wishing babies dies because of no formula available to them”. This was the most hilarious and scary accusation I have ever heard from a supposed breastfeeding champion of a gold caliber. She could be a poster child for formula promotion in a culture that is already very supportive of both bottle and formula feeding. Then I see a discussion of what great resources there are for formula feeding mothers in an LLL Leader group. Now, LLL Leaders by their training are not qualified, authorized, or allowed to teach about formula.

I cannot help but wonder why every single breastfeeding support group advocates formula feeding and abandons the pro-choice stance of breastfeeding advocates who denounce formula thus, in fact, creating a choice in an otherwise choiceless formula culture. All while forcing women who cannot breastfeed to extract milk to feed the state.

PS. Back in the early days of my breastfeeding advocacy career I wrote two articles. The first article I ever wrote was First Weeks of Breastfeeding. The second article I wrote was How to Wean your Baby (From the first days after birth to the age of self-weaning). The reason I wrote it because I saw many women weaning in some barbaric ways that ultimately hurt them. The desperation of women who do not want to continue breastfeeding is reminiscent of the desperation of women who do not want to be pregnant. They will do anything, even it if detrimental to their health or life, to set themselves free. Medical advice on weaning was similar to breastfeeding advice – harmful. I thought it was important to let the women know they have the power and means to stop nursing any time they wished.

 

Written by Medical Nemesis

May 3, 2016 at 09:29

Posted in Other

Leave a Reply

humanmilkpatentpending

To nurse, or not to nurse: that is not a question!

Breast. No Bottle.

To nurse, or not to nurse: that is not a question!

